Imágenes de páginas

are found only in the New World and mainly in the Neotropical Region, though as many as four species come within the limits of the Nearctic Region. The true Raccoons (Procyan) have a representative in each of the two Regions, while the Coatis (Nasua) and the Kinkajou (Cercoleptes) just come within the boundaries of the Nearctic Region from the south, and Bassariscus is restricted to Central America.

In the last family of terrestrial Carnivora belonging to the Arctoid division, we find a much more numerous group, the Mustelidm, or Weasels, embracing about seventeen genera, represented by upwards of eighty different species. On the whole it may be said that the Mustelidm are most abundant in the Nearctic, Palaearctic, and Oriental Regions, and less well represented in the Ethiopian and Neotropical Regions, while, like the rest of the Carnivores, except Canis, they are wholly absent in Australia. The eleven known Neotropical Mustelidm belong to five genera, three of which are peculiar to this Region, while the two others, the Otters (Lutra) and the Weasels (Mustela), are both wide-ranging forms met with also in the Nearctic Region and broadly diffused in the Old World. It may be remarked, however, that Weasels (Mustela) do not occur in the Ethiopian Region, where, however, the Otters (Lutra) are represented by two species. The Nearctic Region is tenanted by several well-marked forms of the Musteline group, amongst which we may specify the Sea Otter (Latax), the Skunks (Mephitisand Spilogale), and the Glutton (Quid); the last-mentioned type, however, being likewise found in the Palaearctic Region.

Section V.—Distribution Of The Marine Carnivora

The Marine Carnivora, or Pinnipeds, which close the series of mammals of this order, are, as has already been shown, distributed on quite a different system from that which prevails in the terrestrial groups of mammals. As, however, they resort more or less to land for breeding purposes, the laws which regulate their distribution are more like those of terrestrial mammals than those which guide the distribution of such purely oceanic forms as the Cetaceans. We have already discussed the main facts of the distribution of the Pinnipeds in a former chapter of this work (Chapter VIII. sect. 2), and it is not now necessary to repeat them, further than to point out that of the three families comprised in this group the Otariidm, or Sea-lions, are essentially Antarctic, only passing to the north in the Pacific where three species occur. On the other hand the Walruses (Tricheehus), which are the sole constituents of the second family Trichechidie, are still more absolutely Arctic, being only found in the North Atlantic and the North Pacific. The third family of Pinnipeds, of which about nine generic forms are recognized, are, on the other hand, much more widely diffused, though most prevalent in high and low latitudes and but feebly represented within the tropics. It should be also specially noted that the five known genera of Antarctic Phocidm are quite different from those of the Arctic seas, although one of them (Macrorhinus) has wandered far up the coast of Western America to the shores of Southern California.

Section VI.—Summary And Deductions

Table of the genera of Carnivora, and of the approximate number of species met with in the principal Zoological Regions.

A. Terrestrial Carnivora

[merged small][graphic][table]
[merged small][graphic][table]
« AnteriorContinuar »